Posted by: erinmelissa | December 8, 2008

Best and Worst Christmas Songs

This is solely my opinion – feel free to continue enjoying songs on the worst list, or despising songs on the best list.  I won’t judge.

Top Ten Favorites

1- The Hippo Song – Gayla Peevey  *This was written as a ploy to get a hippo at the San Diego zoo.  So, we have cute little Gayla singing about the wonderful attributes of hippo-pato-mumuses and making suggestions for Santa on how to get him in the house.  I have forced everyone at work to listen to this song, and have gotten some of them to join my hippo fan club.

catk145l1

2- The Christmas Song – Nat King Cole  *Its a shame to hear anyone else do this song.  Even if they do a fabulous job, they can’t compare to the original version.  The Christmas Song and Nat King Cole are forever entwined.  I will make an exception for his duet with Natalie Cole, though.

3- Baby, it’s Cold Outside – Leon Redbone, Zooey Deshanel *Buddy the Elf, what’s your favorite color?  That’s all I have to say.

4- Santa Baby – Eartha Kitt * Did you know “Slip a sable under the tree” is not referring to a weapon or a live animal?  I thought it was a weapon for a long time – what a weird thing to ask Santa for (exception being a Red Ryder b-b gun) -it’s actually a mink coat. 

5- Christmas Time is Here – Charlie Brown Christmas *Just picture the dancing kids.  They’re awesome.

peanuts-dancing1

6- O Holy Night – Nat King Cole *I love this song, simply for the song itself.  Nat is just icing.  This is my favorite Christmas hymn.

7- It Must Have Been Old Santa – Harry Connick Jr.  *This crazy escapade is just waiting to be made into a Family Channel movie.  Joy riding with Santa?  Talking to Rudolph?  Yes please!

8- Happy Holiday – Bing Crosby *I love “Holiday Inn”.  That’s all.

146731

9- Santa Claus is Coming to Town – Jackson 5  *Is there a better dance song for the holidays?  I submit that there is not!

10- Joy to the World – Nat King Cole *I picked this one just cause it’s a great reminder of what Christmas is about.  Joy to the world – the Lord has come!  Yay!

If you weren’t sure – I love Nat King Cole.  And, if I could only have one Christmas CD, it would be his.  So, if you don’t have it -GO GET IT.  Now.

natkingcolechristmas300

And now, why you’re really here:

The Worst of the Worst

1- The Christmas Shoes – by anyone *Are you kidding me.  The next time you feel like crying for days – here’s your go to song.  I understand it’s sweet and all, but if you know anyone who’s sick or have lost someone in the last decade, you will be devestated for the rest of the holiday season – please someone make this song STOP.  (It doesn’t make things better that, ironically, the last gift I gave my mom was a pair of Puma’s.)

2- Please Christmas Don’t Be Late – The Chipmunks *I grew up listening to this.  And enjoying it.  (I just want a huuuulllaaa hoooop).  But somehow I instantly grew out of it to the point of cringing and covering my ears once puberty hit.  If you enjoy it for the sentimental value, I appreciate that, I wish I could.

images1

3- Rocking Around the Christmas Tree – (I don’t know the artist, but it sounds a bit like Dolly Parton) Too much twang for my tree

4- Come on Ring Those Bells – (Artist Unknown) *This will never get out of your head.  Never.

5- Christmas in the Northwest – (Artist Unknown) *You’ll be familiar with this song if you’re from the northwest and you’ve EVER listened to KCMS at Christmas time.  By the way, if you’re wondering, the theme of the song is that “Christmas in the Northwest is a gift God wrapped in green.”  Awww.

6- Jingle Bell Rock – (by anyone) *Just too much for me.  Sorry.

That’s all I can think of right now…I’ll let you know if I think of others.

Responses

  1. I love the Hippo song. This year for my birthday Nate got me a tree ornament from Cost Plus that’s a hippo. I love it. Our first big date was to the LA county Dept. of Water and Power light show at Griffeth park and that song was playing. It was the first time I’d ever heard it and ever since it’s reminded me of that night. So now for Nate and I, hippos and Christmas will always be tied together. Ahhh….good Christmas memories. Also, have you seen the You Tube video about the hippo named Jessica? You should totally watch it. The hippo gets a massage.


Leave a Reply

Categories

