Posted by: erinmelissa | January 5, 2009

Snap Judgements…

almost always prove me wrong.  Particularly in the book area.  I turned my nose up to the Harry Potter books, not because of any problems with witchcraft or anything, just cause everyone else liked them.  Then, one day I was taking a walk on my lunch break, wandered into Rite Aid and found “The Chamber of Secrets” really cheap, and thought, “might as well see what the fuss is about…” I loved it.  I devoured it.  I moved on to the others, and when I ran out I read them all again…and again.

images5

When the Twilight series came out, they were described to me by my coworker almost like they were harlequin romances with vampires…right, that sounds great.  Not gonna happen.  So, I blissfully ignored their existence, opted out of seeing the movie, forgot about them.  Then, at the New Years party we went to, one of the girls mentioned that she’d read all of the books in a two week period.  So, I wondered if I was repeating my Harry Potter mistake.  The next day as I wandered around Target, looking for some great after Christmas deals (which I got), I picked up Twilight.  Why not, right?  What’s the worst that can happen?  I’ll tell you what the worst that can happen is.  I can drop all my responsibilities and completely ignore my husband for a day and a half while I drink in every word of the 500 page book.  Then, I can set it down, smile at my husband, and ask if we can buy the next two books.  Immediately.  He humored me, because he loves me.  So, I bought them, finished one in slightly over a day, and now I’m about to start the second.  Lets just say…these are not the atypical vampires and werewolves.  And it all takes place in Washington…never knew there were fairy tale creatures here…hmmm. 

images6

So, if you are holding out reading a book because of hype…give in (ahem…Tim, read Harry Potter) cause more times than not, it’s worth it.

Responses

  1. Ha ha…. I am exactly the same. I did the same thing with Harry Potter and Twilight. I purposefully ignored all the Twilight hype because it just seemed so silly. Then my obsessed friends snuck the first book in my purse at a Christmas party and since I was sick and bored, I read it… in one day. Then I read the second… and the third (just finished it the other night)… and now I am dying to read the last one. And I can’t wait to see the movie (that I was turning my nose up at). Surprisingly good, huh?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

