Posted by: erinmelissa | January 7, 2009

Books I could read again and again

These are my favorite (fictional) books, in no particular order.  If you haven’t read them, you should.  Even if you’re a boy, and you think Jane Austin would make you a sissy.  Read them.

  • Pride and Prejudice – this is one of those books that holds you in suspense…will they ever get over they’re various prides/prejudices and fall in love?? Also, I love, love, love the way Mr. Bennet speaks to/about his wife. 

images7

  • Harry Potter anything – JK Rowling is pure gold.  She is one of the most amazing writers I’ve ever read.  The attention to detail, the seemingly little things that change the whole story down the road…genius.  Yes, there are hard to get through parts…SPEW for example, but well worth persevering.

images1

  • The Chronicles of Narnia – I have read these, probably close to 20 times.  They’re short, fast reads, and so much fun.  Again, he ties his stories together, no matter how much time passes between them.  My favorite is The Magicians Nephew, particularly the cabbie…though I don’t really know why.

images2

  • Watership Down – I thought this was about water, ships, going down, that sort of thing.  Like the subtitle for Titanic.  To my surprise, it was about talking little bunny rabbits – one of which can sense impending doom.  It’s creepy “The fields are full of blood!”, funny, and pretty action packed.  Tim likes this one too. – Important note – they often talk in “Lapine” – the bunny language.  There is an index in the back of the book – you’ll need it.

images3

  • Jane Eyre – I like this because of the sarcastic Mr. Rochester – and the mystery.  Spooky scary… (a little 30 Rock reference for ya…boys becoming men, men becoming wolves)

images4

  • The Princess Bride – Did you know this is a book?  Not just a prop for the movie?  It’s fantastic…all that the movie gives you and more…like bald princesses, the invention of the kiss, wandering through the zoo of death…amazing.

images5

  • Little Pilgrim’s Progress – I have tried (unsuccessfully) more than once to read Pilgrim’s Progress. I am simply not smart enough.  I have no idea what people are saying.  But I’ve tried multiple times because I LOVE Little Pilgrim’s Progress.   It’s just what it sounds like – Pilgrim’s Progress written in a way kids (and I) can understand.  It’s a beautiful story, and (I think) it sticks true to the original.  If you have kids, this is a good bedtime story, because it teaches Christian character so clearly and so entertainingly.  This should be a movie.

images6

  • Still on the fence about the Twilight series.  I am really enjoying them right now, but I’m not yet sure if they will make it onto the read again and again list.  I’ll let you know.

images7

Responses

  1. Try reading “Jurassic Park and Sphere” by michael crichton. The Giver by lois lowry. Pay it forward by catherine ryan hyde. These are great books i could read over and over.

  2. I did read the Sphere in high school…I liked it a lot – it was trippy. I had forgotten about that – thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

