Posted by: erinmelissa | January 20, 2009

Attempting to Sew

I can sew.  I can do a mean cross stitch, and I’m not to bad at hand stitching (though slow) and button sewing.  But…

I got a sewing machine for Christmas.  A nice one.  I have used sewing machines before, but this one is unique.  I don’t even have to use the pedal.  I have not, however, threaded sewing machines before.  This is harder than I would  have expected.  I have cut up squares of fabric, and laid out a pattern for a quilt, and spent the following several days just trying to thread it without the bottom and top thread resulting in a knot.  I’m not sure I’m doing it right, despite pouring over the manual and watching the instruction DVD.  Thankfully, Chie should be coming over soon, she knows more than me.  

Anyway, as I mentioned, I’m working on a quilt.  I picked out several different little fabric swatches with a more “modern” feel.  (Though, modern and quilt may be an oximoron.)  It’s got chocolate brown with blue flowers, limey green with little lighter green flowers, bright blue with dots, bright blue with flowers, plain brown, plain cream, orange with cool asianest vines.  Maybe it will turn out.  If I ever figure out how to sew the pieces together, I will back the whole thing with dark gray fleece and it will be soooo cozy.  I’ll let you know.

By the way – Heidi, I got about 50 pages into Marley and Me, and so far I’m feeling indifferent about it.  I’ll keep you posted as it goes along.

Responses

  1. i am sooo with you on the sewing machine threading conspiracies. i got a sewing machine last christmas and despite my best efforts have not been able to use the thing because i can’t figure out how to thread it. frustrating!


Leave a Reply

Categories

