Posted by: erinmelissa | February 27, 2009

Pass the salt?

If you have ever watched a show like Top Chef, or Iron Chef, or any chef, you may have noticed what I’ve been noticing.  The judges/guests don’t have salt and pepper at the table.  This results in a lot of “this is undersalted,”  “I wish there was more seasoning,” or, in an effort to avoid this critique, the contestant was over zealous, making the judges scream, “Too much!  Too much salt!”  Couldn’t this all be avoided by putting some salt on the table?  Isn’t salt generally used to taste?  And isn’t how much or little salt used kind of up to the individual?  For example, Tim likes more salt than I do.  So, while he could be demanding more salt (if he were a judge,) I may be perfectly content.  Which leads me to my next question.  Having never been in a restaurant fancier than the Space Needle or Melting Pot, do super elite restaurants not allow salt and pepper on the table?  Please tell me if you know, because it kind of bugs me that something that could be so easily fixed is causing people to be “Chopped,” “hand me your coat,” or “please pack your knives and go.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

