Posted by: erinmelissa | March 10, 2009

I lied…

I don’t have pictures.  Tim took the camera to work with him.  But I have made 4 pairs of earrings and a necklace.  Yowsah.  Also, we got a new camera.  Remember the one we got for Christmas?  Well, it took a very small fall (off a bed) and broke.  Sooo, thanks to Costco’s amazing return policy, we took back the offending camera and looked for something heartier.  We ended up getting the Panasonic Lumix, which we love so far.   It has 10x zoom (the other had 5) and takes great pictures even in the dark.  We’ve had fun experimenting with it, and so far, we give it two thumbs up.  We also took back my sewing machine, because the foot pedal didn’t work.  I’m still researching what my replacement will be.  I’m looking at mini machines since I don’t plan to do real sewing until I have kids.  For now I just want to be able to hem pants and make baby blankets for friends and stuff.  Let me know if you have recommendations. 

On a completely unrelated note, I’ve been thinking about halloween.  See, I have a lot of pressure to have a better costume than last year for the work competition.  Last year I went as the general manager of my company, and it was pretty darn good.  This year I plan to be Barbie.  In honor of the 50th anniversary.  I’ve done some research, and it looks like the best way to do this is to not only dress the part (pink dress, fake eyelashes, blue eyeshadow, pale pink lipstick, pink shoes) but to come in a box. 

Exhibit A:

kyliefugate524616303670

 

Now, reader(s), here is where you come in.  I’ve given myself lots of time to get everything together, but I need you to be my lookouts.  I really want to look like a Barbie.  Really realistic.  So, I need

1) ideas of famous Barbies to model my clothes after

this cannot be:

  • Malibu Barbie

malibu

  • Original swimsuit Barbie

barbie_doll_original_1959

  • Any Barbie that is not dressed work appropriately

2) Tips for where to find Barbie like clothes

  • Pink shoes (preferably rubbery like real Barbie shoes OR super super pretty)

dsc_0791edit

vintage-barbie-pink-closed-toe-heels

  • Pink dresses
  • Something that Barbie actually wore

41yzrpycbpl__sl500_

  • Big plastic bobble jewelry (ring, earrings, neckace)

 

nels277

(by the way, I totally had a Barbie and the Rockers lunchbox)

dan1barbievcrop

  • Bonus points if you find something I’d wear again (not the above)

3) I already have

  • Fake eyelashes
  • Fake blonde ponytail (from when I dressed as Angela)
  • Eyeliner pencil to draw joints

Please let me know anywhere I should be shopping, or any tips you have on making the box, or whatever!

Responses

  1. SO you 🙂 I’ll be on the look-out…and want to know something that just popped into my head when I read this? “Hi, I’m Daisy…” (or were you Peach?)

  2. Oh, Daisy. Definetly Daisy. I’m still trying to win enough races to open her on our Wii Mario Kart. I’ve had to settle for playing with Rosalina.

  3. http://www.halloweenstore.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=D6994&Category_Code=hippie&Store_Code=h

    Dress option?

    http://www.zappos.com/n/es/color/19/d/722000493/show_all/1/page/1.html

    Some fun shoes… You’ll be a perfect Barbie!

    • I kid you not, I saw the guess shoes (hot pink with gold heel) at TJ Maxx a few weeks ago. When I got this idea I went back for them, but some other lucky Barbie already got them. I don’t know that I could get that dress to fit me, if 7 is the smallest size…maybe with some tailoring.


Leave a Reply

Categories

