Posted by: erinmelissa | May 12, 2009

My take on the book Confessions of a Shopaholic

I read reviews for the book Confessions of a Shopaholic, and it was very well received by those who know more than me.  So, take this with a grain of salt. 

untitled1

After watching commercials for the movie of the same name, I thought the book would probably be hilarious, so I picked it up.

I was very disappointed.  It’s told in first person, so you know exactly what’s going through the main characters head.  And, if you’re me, you don’t like her at all.  She came across as selfish, deceptive, utterly lacking in self control, and manipulative.  To the end of the book, I did not have any fondness for the main character.   This is coming from someone who came to love an alien as a main character.  Her desire to make herself look good caused her to advise someone in a financial move that lost them 20000 lbs (its in Great Britain), and this is the only time in the whole book that she shows remorse instead of acting as a victim.   Reviews rave about it teaching lessons in being a wise steward of your money…what?  All she does is make mistake after mistake, and after clearing her debts she immedietly begins racking them up again.  I don’t even know what else to say, because I’ve pretty much summed up the gist of the story.   She is an altogether repugnant character, who never redeems herself…not a heroine as I was expecting.  Don’t read it.  And if you have, and think I’m totally wrong, feel free to let me know.  (Again…most reviews I’ve read found it “Utterly refreshing.”  So, you may want to judge for yourself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

