Posted by: erinmelissa | May 26, 2009

You know what bugs me? Bugs.

Today’s brightside project question was:
Is there any job/task that you love so much you would be willing to do it for free, if so what?

And my answer was:

I would work in people’s gardens. I’d weed, plant, prune, water and nurture those sweet little plants till they were beautiful. But I’d need someone else who loved to move bugs out of my way so much that they would do it for free. Cause bugs and me, well, we don’t get along.

And it’s very, very true.  I don’t deal well with bugs.  I don’t deal with bugs at all.  I simply leave the room they are in, and wait for Tim to come fix it.  And sometimes, I cry.  Depending on how many and where.  Like the time I came home for lunch and found my white kitchen cabinets blackened with ants.  Or the time I picked my towel up after hot tubbing and didn’t notice the ants until I’d wrapped it around myself, made my way back to the apartment and let my roommate take the first shower.   Or the time the spiders lived in my Christmas tree.  And by spiders I mean at least a dozen.  There’s still spider blood on the ceiling from when Tim smashed one.  Or the time my brother had lizards that had to be fed gross live crickets, and they got out and into the walls.  There was no telling when those would skitter across the floor.  Or the time when the little (poisonous I’m sure) black spider of death escaped Tim while he was trying to kill it, and didn’t emerge from it’s hiding spot of OUR COUCH for a week.  Eventually, he did die.  I don’t even much like Butterflies (yes, I am heartless.)  Have I made my point?  Bugs = No Erin.  No exceptions. 

So, I thought I’d do a search for bugs  I am willing to squish.  Just to push myself out of my comfort zone.  Oh yeah – I don’t mean squish with a shoe either.  Observe:

Tiny Bee toy for Blythe dolls by violetpi

Tiny Bee toy for Blythe dolls by violetpi

This guy is so cute!  I’m not even scared he’ll sting me!  This, I could tolerate in my home. 

Felix by herbertandfriends

Felix by herbertandfriends

Listen to the description on this guy: Felix’s ambition in life is to be the first bug to solve a Rubik’s cube. He has calculated the probability of completing it this year at 73.8 percent. Felix always carries a calculator with him wherever he goes. He says it’s instead of having a book with him, so if he gets bored he can work out probabilities, distances, or whatever maths problem that springs to mind.
His favourite food is alphabetti spaghetti.  

I can’t be scared of him, because he can help me with math.

Little Miss Butterfly by EnnaDesignShop

Little Miss Butterfly by EnnaDesignShop

Okay, I take back not liking butterflies.  I like this butterfly.  She’s pink and brown, and looks like she might tap dance at any moment.  Plus, 4 legs instead of 6 helps.

gus by feltruche

gus by feltruche

This guy is like a throwback to Gloworms – which I was totally behind.  So he’s welcome into my garden.

Henri the Hug Me Slug, Art Toy by Elizabeth Ruffing, Small, Pear Green by elizabethruffing

Henri the Hug Me Slug, Art Toy by Elizabeth Ruffing, Small, Pear Green by elizabethruffing

As long as he promises not to eat my flowers he can come over too.

SUPER SALE - Bug in a Flower - Rhoda by girlgolite

SUPER SALE - Bug in a Flower - Rhoda by girlgolite

This little one has changed my whole outlook on bees.  How freaking cute. 

Itsy Bitsy Spider and Little Miss Muffet Needle Felted Wool Flying Spider by asherjasper

Itsy Bitsy Spider and Little Miss Muffet Needle Felted Wool Flying Spider by asherjasper

The most treacherous creature of all, now made bearable by the extreme talent of asherjasper.

Mr Mosquito - Amigurumi Pattern by DeliciousCrochet

Mr Mosquito - Amigurumi Pattern by DeliciousCrochet

I wouldn’t go so far as to invite this guy in…that needle nose is way too big – I’m no fool.  But maybe I could tolerate him through glass.

Pet Bug- Caterpillar by sharlet

Pet Bug- Caterpillar by sharlet

This is how I like my bugs.  Good and trapped.

Felt Square Friends. Snail Plush Animal. diddeedits

Felt Square Friends. Snail Plush Animal. diddeedits

You stay in your shell…I’ll stay in mine.

Black Candy Caterpillar by mutantcaterpillar

Black Candy Caterpillar by mutantcaterpillar

Here we observe the catipillar in it’s natural habitat.  This, by the way, was made in Valencia CA…what what!

 

Happy Cherry MUNCHIES Britney the Bee Plush Felt Toy by happycherry

Happy Cherry MUNCHIES Britney the Bee Plush Felt Toy by happycherry

Yet another adorable bee…man, these guys are cute!

Happy Cherry MUNCHIES Wool Felt Ladybug Softie Toy by happycherry

Happy Cherry MUNCHIES Wool Felt Ladybug Softie Toy by happycherry

and the bee’s parter in cute – the ladybug.

Wilhemina the Worm - Stuffed Felt Animal by MiChiMa

Wilhemina the Worm - Stuffed Felt Animal by MiChiMa

World’s cutest worm.  Easily.  Although…I’ve never seen a worm with legs before.

Liliana the Ladybug - Stuffed Felt Animal by MiChiMa

Liliana the Ladybug - Stuffed Felt Animal by MiChiMa

Another adorable ladybug – I love the green spots.

Ultra Vibrant Rainbow Plush Caterpillar by tinybuttercup

Ultra Vibrant Rainbow Plush Caterpillar by tinybuttercup

Another funky non scary caterpillar.  And, this one can be “killed”…:

il_430xN_70651271

…if you don’t like bugs either.
As usual, everything can be found on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

